STIGhubSTIGhub
STIGhub— A free STIG search and compliance tool·STIGs updated 1 hour ago
Powered by Pylon·Privacy·Terms·Feedback·© 2026 Beacon Cloud Solutions, Inc.
← Back to Apple iOS/iPadOS 27 Security Technical Implementation Guide

V-288441

CAT II (Medium)

Apple iOS/iPadOS 27 must disable the ability of the user to wipe the device.

Rule ID

SV-288441r1287837_rule

STIG

Apple iOS/iPadOS 27 Security Technical Implementation Guide

Version

V1R1

CCIs

CCI-000366

Discussion

This feature must be disabled to comply with DoW electronic records retention requirements for mobile devices. Otherwise, mobile device users could wipe the device, which would violate DoW policy. SFR ID: FMT_MOF_EXT.1.2 #47

Check Content

Review configuration settings to confirm "Allow Erase All Content and Settings" is disabled. 

This is a supervised-only control. If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is not supervised by the MDM, this control is automatically a finding.

If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is supervised by the MDM, follow these procedures:

This check procedure is performed on both the device management tool and the iPhone and iPad device.

Note: If an organization has multiple configuration profiles, the check procedure must be performed on the relevant configuration profiles applicable to the scope of the review. 

In the iOS/iPadOS management tool, verify "Allow erase all content and settings" is unchecked.

On the iPhone/iPad device:
1. Open the Settings app.
2. Tap "General".
3. Tap "VPN & Device Management". 
4. Tap the Configuration Profile from the iOS management tool containing the restrictions policy.
5. Tap "Restrictions".
6. Verify "Erase content and settings not allowed" is listed.

If "Allow erase all content and settings" is not disabled in the management tool, or on the Apple device "Erase content and settings not allowed" is not listed, this is a finding.

Fix Text

Install a configuration profile to disable "Allow Erase All Content and Settings". This is a supervised-only control.

Configuration Profile Key: allowEraseContentAndSettings